School Board

The Holy Spirit Primary School Board is constituted to help the School fulfill its education responsibilities in accordance with the policies and practices prescribed or recommended by the Catholic Education Commission of Western Australia (CECWA), and in accordance with Diocese guidelines and prescriptions for the religious education program.

The Board is bound by the Catholic School Board Constitution.

Board Members are usually appointed at an Annual General Meeting held each November based on their expertise, qualifications and experience to enhance business and affairs, as well as ensure compliance. Our Principal, Steve Versteegen, is an Ex-Officio member of the Board and has the delegated responsibility to lead Holy Spirit Primary School.

Key functions for the Board include

  • Planning for the present and future operations of Holy Spirit Primary School;
  • Providing membership on selection panels for the employment of staff to the School in accordance with CECWA policy;
  • Providing membership on the panel which recommends the appointment of a Principal in accordance with CECWA policy;
  • Disseminating information about the School and about Catholic education to persons and organisations in the school community
  • Liaising in all matters relating to the financial management of the School with persons and organisations in the local Catholic community;
  • Managing all the finances associated with the School; and
  • Advising the Principal with respect to School policy.

Board Election Information For 2017

Meet our Board


Simon Williams      Chairman

Simon has been a member of the Holy Spirit School Board since 2012 and has been the chairman since 2014. He is married to Julia and has four splendid children – Georgia, Patrick, Alice and Angela. His association with the school and the community dates back to 2005 when Georgia started in pre-primary. He is a doctor (child neurologist) and works at Princess Margaret Hospital and has particular interests in complex neurodisability and neurorehabilitation.


Sean Macfarlane      Secretary

Sean was elected to serve on the Holy Spirit School Board and has done so since 2012. He has been Secretary of the Board since 2013 and his highlights on the Board include:

  • working closely with Steve Versteegen to help launch the school’s full day pre-kindy program and
  • winning a LotteryWest funding grant to equip the pre-Kindy classroom.

Sean is a lawyer specialising in property law and strata titles. His current work is in law reform. In addition to being a lawyer, Sean has also worked overseas as a TV producer, TV director and a magazine publisher. Sean and his wife Cath have been associated with the school since 2011 through their children Sarah and Joshua.


Stuart Laing      Treasurer

Stuart Laing has been a member and the treasurer of the Holy Spirit School Board since the beginning of 2014. Stuart and his wife Jacinta have been involved with the school since 2004 through their three children. Stuart has extensive commercial management, finance and advisory experience and is currently the Commercial Manager for the Australian Premium Iron Joint Venture. Stuart has commerce and engineering qualifications and is a member of the Australian Society of CPAs.


David Murdoch      Deputy Chair

David has been a Primary School teacher for over 10 years, having worked initially at St Hilda’s AGS, and currently at St Mary’s AGS in Karrinyup. He has taught in Years 2, 4 and 6, and is currently acting as the ICT Integration teacher for the Junior School at St Mary’s. Prior to this he worked in the hospitality industry, finishing his time as a Rooms Division Manager/Training officer role.

He has been a member of the board since the beginning of 2015, and has been associated with Holy Spirit School since 2008. He is married to Melissa and has two daughters at the school – Holly in Year 6, and Emily in Year 3.


Jo Quinn      Board Member

Jo was elected to the Board in November 2015. From 2012-2015 Jo was the president of the Holy Spirit Parents & Friends Association and attended Board meetings as the P&F representative. Jo has been the General Counsel at Edith Cowan University since August 2009 where she heads up the university’s in-house legal function. Prior to that, Jo worked as an in-house lawyer and in private practice in Perth and the UK, specializing in corporate and commercial law. In addition to undergraduate and postgraduate legal qualifications, Jo is a graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors. Jo and her husband, Graham Nutt, have three children – Oliver (now at Trinity), Charlotte and Jasper (both currently at Holy Spirit).


Natasha Ogonowski      Board Member

Natasha was co-opted to the Board in May 2016. Natasha is a strategic creative thinker with eighteen years commercial experience working for high profile, global service companies in the engineering and construction sector of the energy market. As a former Manager of Risk, Insurance and Strategy, Natasha brings a range of commercial skills and learning to a board environment. Natasha has three children, Abbey in Pre Primary, Mia in Pre Kindy and Jacob who will commence at Holy Spirit in 2017.


Marcia Pekin      P&F President

Marcia was elected to the position of P&F President in 2016 and attends Board meetings as a representative of the P&F. Marcia has two daughters at the school; in Year 2 and Kindy. A chartered accountant, Marcia specialises as a forensic accountant working on insurance and litigation matters.


Greg Williams      Parish Council Representative

Greg has represented the Holy Spirit Parish Council on the School Board since 2014. Greg has been a member of the Parish Council since 2010 and was Vice President of the Holy Spirit P&F during 2014 and 2015. Greg and his wife Claire Forrest have three sons Thomas, Joshua and Nicholas at the school. Greg has worked for Mack Hall Real Estate since 2013. From 1992 to 2010 Greg owned a wholesale, import and manufacturing business in the electrical industry.


Steve Versteegen      Principal

Steve Versteegen was appointed Principal of Holy Spirit School in 2010 after twelve years as Principal at St Thomas More Catholic Primary School in Margaret River. Prior to that Steve was a teacher/senior teacher at Good Shepherd Catholic Primary School in Kelmscott for nine years followed by an eleven year stint as Principal at St Brigid’s Bridgetown. Mr Versteegen brings more than thirty five years teaching experience to Holy Spirit where he has a strong connection with the school, having been a former parish member. Mr Versteegen has a good understanding of what working in a community involves and endeavours to work collaboratively with the current School Board to ensure that Holy Spirit School continues to meet the needs of the modern day student.